How to Send Location from Android to WhatsApp

WhatsApp allows you to share your real-time location with chat participants. The function is not difficult to activate, and, if necessary, can be disabled.

We will explain below how to send geolocation on Android smartphones to WhatsApp.

How to allow WhatsApp access to your location

First of all, you need to check if the application WhatsApp has access to your geodata:

Step 1. Open Settings Android. To do this, open the notification curtain, click on the gear icon.

Step 2. Go to Applications.

Step 3. Then open subsection "Permissions".

Step 4. Click App Permissions.

Step 5. Open Location.

Step 6. Find "WhatsApp" in the application list.

​​

Step 7. Make sure that “Enable” or “Enable only while using the application".

Please note! Depending on the version of Android you are using, it may not be possible to enable persistent location access.

How to share location data in chat

To start sharing location data, do the following:

Step 1. Open the chat where you want to share the location and tap the paperclip (at the bottom of the screen).

Step 2. Choose what you want to share, in our case - "Place".

Step 3. Click the Share Location Button.

Step 4. Choose how long your location data will be available to others. After that, press the button "Submit".

Step 5. The corresponding message will be displayed in the notification area.

How to cease to divide geodanes

If you need to stop the transmission of information about your location, simply press "Stop Share" and confirm the action.

In order to get more information about who and when you started to share location, go to the settings WhatsApp. To do this:

Step 1. Press three points in the upper right corner of the application.

Step 2. Select "Settings".

Step 3. Open the section " Account".

Step 4. Go to "Privacy".

Step 5. Next to paragraph "Geodata" information will be displayed in how many Chats You share information about your location. Click on it.

Step 6. Information on all chats will be displayed, including the counter of the remaining time. In order to stop the process, press the button "stop sharing".

Step 7. Select "Stop" to confirm.